You are here: AU  Staff Faculties  Science and Technology Process for future organisation of ST

Process for future organisation of ST

Rector Bech Nielsen has initiated a process aimed at splitting Science and Technology into two faculties. The purpose is to make the dean’s leadership task more manageable, which in turn would improve quality and create better balance at the university as a whole. Read more: Rector: AU should have five faculties instead of four (07.02.2019) and Lars Henrik Andersen has been named acting dean of ST (08.02.2019)

This page will provide you with information about the process.

Staff meeting 19 February

At the staff meeting, the rector presented the underlying reasons for splitting ST in two faculties and the timetable for the process, which for the academic and organizational part is expected to be in place during 2019, and in 2020 for the administrative area.

(The meeting was held in Danish, but the slides were in English)

Video from the staff meeting 19 February about the division of ST into two faculties.

Timetable for the process

  • 19/2: Staff meeting with ST employees
  • 20/2-5/3: Faculty Management Team and rector discuss possibilities and come up with a proposal
  • 5/3-28/3: Rector visits all ST departments and the administrative center to discuss the proposal with the staff
  • 28/3-8/4: Faculty Management Team and rector reflect on input and agree on refined proposal
  • 25/4: Board meeting: Proposal is presented
  • 26/4-20/5: Consulting process with stakeholders at ST (”hearing”)
  • 22/5: Senior management team refines proposal based on input
  • 7/6: Board meeting: The board decides on new faculty structure
  • August: Announcement of the two dean positions
  • 1/1-2020: New deans are expected to be in place
  • December 2019.: Decision about future organisation of the administration center
  • 2020: Potentially a year where the two faculties are served by the current administration center
125080 / i31