Business Committee

Business committee at ST

The Faculty Business Committee at Science and Technology are to increase the dialogue and collaboration with the private business sector and public companies. The Faculty Business Committee is Science and Technology’s coordinating body for the activities concerning business collaboration. The objective is to ensure a professional approach to private companies.

Also the Faculty Business Committee is coordinating body of the Science and Technology’s Institutes and Centers local business committees.

There are a number of advantages in increased business collaboration:

  • Access to external research funds.
  • New networks.
  • Dividing the research infrastructure.
  • Joint research applications.
  • Collaboration regarding degree programs.
  • Contributing to solving major societal challenges.

The task portfolio for the Faculty Business Committee includes:

  • Ensuring – in collaboration with the Dean’s Office, the Faculty Management Team and the local business committees – that the annual targets for the extent and nature of business collaboration at the faculty are achieved.
  • Providing presentations to the Faculty Management Team regarding the overall strategic principles and direction of Science and Technology’s business collaboration.
  • Providing the Dean’s Office and the Faculty Management Team with advice regarding business collaboration.
  • Ensuring that Science and Technology and Aarhus University stakeholders are involved to a relevant extent in business collaboration.
  • Coordinating collaboration with the (major) companies cutting across departments and centres, as well as initiating ‘major academic ventures’ such as pilot projects.
  • Supporting Aarhus University’s management and players in collaboration with the university’s strategic business partners.
  • Providing management information to the Dean’s Office, the Faculty Management Team, the Committee for Research and External Collaboration, and the Senior Management Team in connection with enquiries.


The Faculty Business Committee is appointed by the dean.

Chairman Vice-Dean for Research Søren Keiding

Chairman Vice-Dean for Knowledge Exchange Kurt Nielsen

Senior researcher Birte Boelt, Department of Agroecology

Senior researcher Annette Bruhn, Department of Bioscience

Professor Ira Assent, Department of Computer Science

Special consultant Søren Poulsen, Department of Computer Science

Professor Peter Balling, Department of Physics and Astronomy

Group leader Karen K. Petersen, Department of Food Science

Professor Esben Auken, Institut of Geoscience

Professor Knud Erik Bach Knudsen, Department of Animal Science

Programme manager Andy Drysdale, Department of Engineering

Professor Kim Daasbjerg, Department of Chemistry

Senior Researcher Rodrigo Labouriau, Department of Mathematics

Senior researcher Hans Sanderson, Department of Environmental Science

Associate professor Esben Skipper Sørensen, Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics

Special consultant Else Thordahl Meyer, Danish Centre for Food and Agriculture (DCA)

Senior consultant Anja Skjoldborg Hansen, Danish Centre for Environment and Energy (DCE)

Professor Kim Daasbjerg, Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Center (iNANO)

Development manager Mikael Bergholz Knudsen, Aarhus University School of Engineering (ASE)