2017.04.28 | Staff

New initiative will improve career options for junior researchers at AU

Junior researchers (assistant professors and postdoctoral fellows) on standard and tenure track contracts can now look forward to more career development assistance. This autumn, AU is launching a variety of initiatives to provide better career opportunities to junior research staff both at and outside the university, including opportunities for…

Photo: Morten Koldby

2017.04.27 | Staff, Public / media

ERC Advanced Grant awarded to Susanne Bødker

The European Research Council (ERC) has awarded a grant of between EUR 2 and 2.5 million to Professor Susanne Bødker, Department of Computer Science, to strengthen her ground-breaking research in user interfaces for complex human use of computers.

2017.04.25 | Staff

DKK 11 million from The Novo Nordisk Foundation to cancer research

The Novo Nordisk Foundation has awarded the prestigious Hallas-Møller Investigator Grant valued at DKK 11 million to Ulf Andersson Ørom to study the role of miRNA biogenesis in cancer. The project will be carried out at the Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics, Aarhus University.

2017.04.26 | Staff

Funding for synergistic research activities at ST

The Faculty Management Team has granted DKK 4.5 million to research projects that focus particularly on creating synergy cutting across Science and Technology’s research environments and that have considerable potential to achieve external funding.

The two performers in the Chemistry Show – Mathilde and Johannes – clinched the title for the third year in a row at the weekend’s Danish Science Show Championship. Photo: ScitechAU Instagram
The Physics Show Aarhus won both second place and the audience prize. Photo: ScitechAU Instagram

2017.04.25 | Staff

Chemistry Show Aarhus scores a hat-trick

The Chemistry Show has won the Danish Science Show Championship for the third year in a row. The Physics Show Aarhus not only achieved a fine second place, but also won the audience prize.

The Danish Science Festival 2016 at Navitas in Aarhus. Two boys are playing Jacob Sherson’s game Quantum Shooter – with Jacob Sherson. Photo: Lars Kruse, Aarhus University

2017.04.24 | Public / media, Staff

Jacob Sherson receives Research Communication Award

Associate Professor Jacob Sherson from Aarhus University is this year’s recipient of the Research Communication Award. The award will be presented by H.R.H. Crown Princess Mary at the opening of the Danish Science Festival at the Experimentarium on 24 April.

Rajiv Vaid Basaiawmoit has developed a game called Eship: Navigating Uncertainty, and he is shown here instructing students at the Aarhus University School of Engineering. Photo: Peter F. Gammelby

2017.04.25 | Public / media, Staff

Play being an entrepreneur and get wiser about uncertainty

A board game developed by a lecturer at Aarhus University has won prizes for its scientific approach to teaching future entrepreneurs about themselves – and navigating safely in a world of uncertainty. Read more (in Danish only) here.

Professor Jørgen Kjems is Director of iNANO and will now also be Director of the Centre for Cellular Signal Patterns. Photo: Peter F. Gammelby, Aarhus University

2017.04.20 | Public / media, Staff

New centre will decipher the language of cells

A new basic research centre – CellPAT – will identify how cells ‘talk’ to each other, and thereby make it possible to prevent or correct the type of communication errors that lead to illness.

The new basic research centre is directed by Professor Lars Peter Nielsen, and will reveal more secrets of the electrical bacteria. Photo: Peter F. Gammelby, Aarhus University

2017.04.20 | Public / media, Staff

How do bacteria act with built-in electrical wires?

Six years after the sensational discovery of cable bacteria, the Danish National Research Foundation is now awarding a grant of up to DKK 56 million to the Centre for Electromicrobiology at Aarhus University.

HM Queen Margrethe II presented the award to Professor Bo Brummerstedt Iversen on 19 April 2017 at a ceremony at the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters. (Photo: Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters)
Professor Bo Brummerstedt Iversen. (Photo: Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters)

2017.04.20 | Public / media, Staff

Queen Margrethe II’s Science Award goes to Professor of Crystallography

Professor Bo Brummerstedt Iversen, Department of Chemistry and iNANO, Aarhus University, received Queen Margrethe II’s Science Award on 19 April 2017. The award is presented to an outstanding researcher by the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters.

Showing results 1 to 10 of 16

1 2 Next

89572 / i31